School Based Mental Health Program

Service Components

School Based Mental Health Program is a collaboration between New York State Office of Mental Health, New York State Education Department, Erie County Department of Mental Health and the United Way-Closing the Gap. The four components of school based mental health services are:

  1. The integration of mental health supports and services into the regular education processes for identifying at-risk children, as well as into the processes for planning and delivering services to the popluation.
  2. The development or enhancement of family support mechanisms within the school.
  3. Training for school staff, families and mental health professionals in the areas of individualized care planning and strengths based approaches; behavior management; family/professional collaboration; recognizing the symptoms of childhood emotional and behavioral disorders, and effective strategies for addressing these disorders.
  4. The provision of school based clinical services.

Schools Available

Harriet Ross Tubman School #31
212 Stanton Street
Buffalo, NY 14212
(716) 816-3960
(716) 816-3780

Hamlin Park School #74
126 Donaldson Road
Buffalo, NY 14208
(716) 816-3497

West Hertel Academy School #94
489 Hertel Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14207
(716) 816-4154

Academy School at #171, Grades 7-8
1409 East Delevan Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14215
(716) 816-3480

Academy School at #44, Grades 9-12
1369 Broadway
Buffalo, NY 14212
(716) 816-3270